Bittersweet Symphony

As many of you may now know, I have accepted a terrific opportunity to take on the role of Founding President of the SEED School of Miami, the first public boarding school in the State of Florida. This is an exciting opportunity as well as a brand new challenge for me.

I have spent the last 20 years working in our foster care system and, after ten years at Our Kids, I have decided to take on this new venture that I feel strongly is the right decision for me at this time, for Our Kids and for SEED.

That being said, the time that I have spent at Our Kids has been personally transformational for me. Working to better the lives of so many children and families in our community has been truly rewarding and fulfilling and nothing will ever really compare to this time.

I have seen our organization develop and progress tremendously. Implementing programs like Heroes for Our Kids, hosting dozens of families for National Adoption Day and watching our foster care kids graduate will always remain as some of the most special memories I will ever have. Nothing can really top incorporating our nationally recognized wireless tracking system, as it has probably been the greatest contribution the organization has made to the child welfare system. Not only because we revolutionized the industry, but because we helped to vastly decrease the number of children in care. It is truly amazing what you can achieve when you have the right team of people working towards the same goal.

Over the next couple of months, my goal is for Our Kids to remain as strong and successful as we have been over the years. To do this, I will be working with our amazing leadership team to make sure the transition is as smooth as possible and that we continue to provide the community with the best service possible.

We all, together, have a hand in the success of Our Kids. Every day we create our organization’s culture, every day we decide what kind of organization we will be.

I am undoubtedly a better person as a result of having worked with such an inspirational organization. Each of us has a role to play in our continued success. Every one of us is a leader. Our Kids is not one person. It is all of us. Our Kids will always be a big part of who I am. Our Kids will always be my family and will always hold a great place in my heart.

Love to all,Fran

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

